Online Film Critics Society — 2018 Awards (22nd Annual) Winners

The 22nd annual awards for 2018 movies as chosen by the Online Film Critics Society (of which I’m a member) have been revealed. Many of these weren’t surprises — a few I’d still argue with — but it’s wonderful to have so many choices.

* Winners in BOLD

Best Picture
* Roma
If Beale Street Could Talk
First Reformed
The Favourite
You Were Never Really Here
Eighth Grade
A Star Is Born

Best Animated Feature
Incredibles 2
Isle of Dogs
Ralph Breaks the Internet
* Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Best Director
* Alfonso Cuarรณn โ€“ Roma
Barry Jenkins โ€“ If Beale Street Could Talk
Yorgos Lanthimos โ€“ The Favourite
Spike Lee โ€“ BlacKkKlansman
Lynne Ramsay โ€“ You Were Never Really Here

Best Actor
Christian Bale โ€“ Vice
Bradley Cooper โ€“ A Star Is Born
* Ethan Hawke โ€“ First Reformed
Joaquin Phoenix โ€“ You Were Never Really Here
John David Washington โ€“ BlacKkKlansman

Best Actress
Yalitza Aparicio โ€“ Roma
* Toni Collette โ€“ Hereditary
Olivia Colman โ€“ The Favourite
Regina Hall โ€“ Support the Girls
Lady Gaga โ€“ A Star Is Born

Best Supporting Actor
Mahershala Ali โ€“ Green Book
Adam Driver โ€“ BlacKkKlansman
Richard E. Grant โ€“ Can You Ever Forgive Me?
* Michael B. Jordan โ€“ Black Panther
Steven Yeun โ€“ Burning

Best Supporting Actress
Elizabeth Debicki โ€“ Widows
* Regina King โ€“ If Beale Street Could Talk
Thomasin McKenzie โ€“ Leave No Trace
Emma Stone โ€“ The Favourite
Rachel Weisz โ€“ The Favourite

Best Original Screenplay
Eighth Grade โ€“ Bo Burnham
The Favourite โ€“ Deborah Davis, Tony McNamara
* First Reformed โ€“ Paul Schrader
Roma โ€“ Alfonso Cuarรณn
Sorry to Bother You โ€“ Boots Riley

Best Adapted Screenplay
BlacKkKlansman โ€“ Charlie Wachtel, David Rabinowitz, Kevin Willmott, Spike Lee
Can You Ever Forgive Me? โ€“ Nicole Holofcener, Jeff Whitty
* If Beale Street Could Talk โ€“ Barry Jenkins
Leave No Trace โ€“ Debra Granik, Anne Rossellini
Widows โ€“ Gillian Flynn, Steve McQueen

Best Editing
The Favourite โ€“ Yorgos Mavropsaridis
First Man โ€“ Tom Cross
* Mission: Impossible โ€“ Fallout โ€“ Eddie Hamilton
Roma โ€“ Alfonso Cuarรณn, Adam Gough
Widows โ€“ Joe Walker

Best Cinematography
Cold War โ€“ Lukasz Zal
The Favourite โ€“ Robbie Ryan
First Man โ€“ Linus Sandgren
If Beale Street Could Talk โ€“ James Laxton
* Roma โ€“ Alfonso Cuarรณn

Best Original Score
Black Panther โ€“ Ludwig Gรถransson
First Man โ€“ Justin Hurwitz
* If Beale Street Could Talk โ€“ Nicholas Britell
Isle of Dogs โ€“ Alexandre Desplat
Suspiria โ€“ Thom Yorke

Best Debut Feature
* Ari Aster โ€“ Hereditary
Bo Burnham โ€“ Eighth Grade
Bradley Cooper โ€“ A Star Is Born
Carlos Lรณpez Estrada โ€“ Blindspotting
Boots Riley โ€“ Sorry to Bother You

Best Film Not in the English Language
Cold War
* Roma

Best Documentary
Free Solo
Minding the Gap
Three Identical Strangers
* Wonโ€™t You Be My Neighbor?

Technical Achievement Awards
* Annihilation โ€“ Best Visual Effects
* Black Panther โ€“ Best Costume Design
* Mission: Impossible โ€“ Fallout โ€“ Best Stunt Coordination
* A Quiet Place โ€“ Best Sound Design
* A Star Is Born โ€“ Best Original Songs

Lifetime Achievement Awards
* Roger Deakins
* Spike Lee
* Rita Moreno
* Robert Redford
* Agnรจs Varda

Special Achievement Awards
* To Ryan Coogler, for Black Pantherโ€™s distinctive critical and box office appeal.
* To the city of Oakland, CA, for hosting 2018โ€™s most socially and artistically compelling films about racism, โ€œSorry to Bother Youโ€ and โ€œBlindspotting.โ€

Speak up, Mortal -- and beware of Spoilers!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s